Cake, the bakiverse, and everything

Baking tools

Hello fellow baker!  Well, I’m glad you’re here, but that aside you’re probably wondering what all this is about.  At this moment in time, so am I.  So let me explain.

Singing Hinnies and Fat Rascals – that’s not a sweeping generalisation, nor (I promise) should you be offended and planning to hurt me.  You might be familiar with cake clubs, they’ve become really popular of late, but this, this my friend is different.

This… is a baking club.

A subtle difference, yes?  Actually, it’s quite a chunky difference.  Because the rules are, there are no rules.

I’ve been baking for years, seriously for around three now, and always fancied joining a club but geez, rules ahoy! None of this, must be that, follow the theme, no judging, one guest, yadda yadda.

That’s great for some folk but not for me, as soon as I see ‘Don’t bring X‘ I can think of NOTHING other than bringing X. A pie.  A flan.  A danish pastry.  Mmm, pastry…

Fat rascalsAfter some debate, singing hinnies & fat rascals was born as a rule-free bake club.  The plan currently is to do some research with you guys ahead of our first party in September, somewhere in the North East of England. This is where I need YOUR help – without you it’s just me eating my own baked goods in public!

So, do you like the idea? The name? What kind of venues? Do you like to compete? Should we try to get bake-y speakers? Mix sweet and savoury? Have themes? Go mad, tell me everything and let your imagination go mad.

Leave me a comment, tweet me @gasmarkfour or mail me at gasmarkfour(at)mail(dot)com.

Suzy 🙂

11 thoughts on “Cake, the bakiverse, and everything

  1. I hear you sister – all those rules just get in the way of being fun & friendly! In our bake club we have one rule – whatever you bring has to be baked 🙂 I love the name and the philosophy – good luck with your first party!

  2. I’d be up for that. I really like the idea of no real rules, no competing, bring what you like. Maybe there could be themes like “bring something you’ve never baked before”, and we could all work out what went wrong! Haha.
    At the same time, if there are a few people particularly interested in, say, lemon cake, they could all bake and compare, whereas if the rest of us want to bring in pannetone and steak and kidney pies, then that’s fine. Or not. Anyway, both of my places would be available to host events- settle down cafe and sugar down bakery.
    We get a lot of keen bakers swinging by the bakery to talk sugar, so there’s a constituency there, I think. Had somebody ask me whether I might be able to put on a baking club evening a while back, but I didn’t have the energy to start one up.

  3. Love this idea, would be up for it if I’m still about in the NE. My preferences would be, since I work 9-5, for it to be in the evening or on weekends.

  4. Hello. I live in the North East and love the sound of this. I am fairly new to baking and am trying to get to grips with the whole gluten free thing as my 3 year old can’t have gluten. There is something that lifts your spirits about baking so count me in. I love the name Cafes and pubs sound great. Not sure about the competing. Would prefer it to be about fun. I think alternating between sweet and savoury is good. Bake-y speakers would be good. Chance to learn perhaps some new techniques or something unusual or just hear from bake- y people. It all sounds great. I look forward to hearing more. Oh and evenings and weekends good for me to as work 9-5

  5. Hi I live in the North East and am a very keen home baker and love the sound of the baking club.
    signed up for the newsletter and am looking forward t hearing what you have planned. i heard about you from the Clandestine Cake Club meeting which i attended for the first time last week

  6. HI,
    I too live in the North East and love the sound of this club! Trying to work out how you join and find about dates and venues of the meetings. Sadly I’m not very technoloigically gifted so this is proving very difficult! Would love it if I could come along though and bring some (hopefully) tasty bakes!

    Becki

  7. Hello there I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found you
    by mistake, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say kudos for a marvelous post
    and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also
    added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do
    keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

